Coventry Zoo

Not being a Coventry native, I was unaware (until 10 minutes ago anyway) that Coventry had a zoo.

The Virtual Museum Willenhall has an interesting copy of an original zoo guide which you can view online. The animals do look a little sad, and it reminds me of school trips to the Memphis Zoo when I was younger.

Somewhat more lighthearted is MACE ‘s 1973 film clip of the resident dolphins getting their teeth cleaned!

I’m personally not a big fan of zoos and, after reading this article, perhaps I didn’t miss much by coming to Coventry years after the zoo closed. Except, perhaps, this.

I think it’s been said on this blog before, but you never know what to expect from a day working at the Herbert!! It’s wonderful to learn more about the history of where I live now and I look forward to more random (but exciting) discoveries. I’ll keep you posted!

Erin

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Posted on 30/06/2010, in Coventry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

